Subliminal Chaos
Every Silver Lining Has a Dark Cloud Covering It

Who do you blame?

How many of us can actually say that our parents know every aspect of our lives? Not many, I’m sure ! From a certain age onwards, we all start leading double lives, probably because we start thinking our parents wouldn’t understand, succumbing to peer pressure and so on.

At times, some of us go astray (I’m leaving it up to you to decided what “going astray” means to you) and start attracting all kinds of attention. And by attention I mean the bad kind, where people start talking about you and what you do or believe in. You see, people are not a big fan of anything that deviates from their point of view on what is right and what is wrong. If someone does, well, people start talking.

Now, usually we expect older people doing all this kinda of talking, you know, people from a different generation and all that. But more often than not it is your peers and friends, people who are not very different from you. It is easy to find fault when it is someone else at the receiving end and not you.

But my problem is not all of this, people have a right to talk, they do, but the problem arises when they blame an individual’s upbringing and parents when they see someone going astray!

iz113007

Parents! Really? Are they to be blamed? Parent who have spent all their time and energy in bringing up their children with the right values and beliefs? Is it really their fault if after years of nurturing and bringing up their child, the child decides to take another path? Parents can’t always keep an eye on what their child is upto after a certain age. It is just not possible. 

So is it really always right to blame the parents for how the child turns out to be?

4 Responses to “Who do you blame?”

  1. My mom. I still do. I’m really angry at her if I stop to check below the surface.

  2. I don’t know what you have gone through to say that. Just one question, isn’t everything you do or have done a choice you made?

  3. Everything I’ve done is a choice I’ve made. But, I didn’t make her choices? I’m not saying I’ve made better ones, although, in some areas I have in other areas I haven’t. I’m not angry at her for my choices. I’m angry at her for her choices. And as enlightened and transformed as I would like to be, the REALITY is I’m still angry. Not a drama, just being honest and clear. Are you above all things emotional? Who is bearing the burden for your luxury of indifference?

  4. Parent who have spent all their time and energy in bringing up their children with the right values and beliefs? Is it really their fault if after years of nurturing and bringing up their child, the child decides to take another path?

    it’s my personal observation that (most of the time) if the latter happens, it’s because the former hasn’t been done properly. and parenting is a lot more than just teaching children the right values and beliefs – parents should also be willing to learn from their kids to grow together as a family.


Leave a Reply

